BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page has been archived and is no longer updated. Find out more about page archiving.

24 September 2014
What's the speed of dark?

BBC Homepage
Guide to Comedy
Ab Fab
Alan Partridge
Britain's Best Sitcom
The Office
Only Fools...
Shooting Stars
Smoking Room
More Shows »

Latest News

Win Stuff

More on
TV & Radio Listings
BBC7 Comedy
Radio 4 Comedy
Comedy on h2g2
Bearded Lady
Lancashire Fun
Search News

Printable Version

Contact Us

Rowan AtkinsonRowan Atkinson
Rowan Atkinson hails from Newcastle and took a degree in electrical engineering at Newcastle University before studying at Oxford for an MSc, where he met Richard Curtis.

Although he'd first appeared at Edinburgh when he was 17, Atkinson was spotted at the 1976 Festival by television producer John Lloyd, who went on to produce him in his first starring role - as one of the four members of the Not The Nine O'Clock News sketch team. This was followed by the huge success of Blackadder and its sequels which propelled Atkinson to star status.

He then went on to create Mr Bean. A walking disaster, Bean was purely physical comedy, the opposite of Edmund Blackadder's polished dialogue. This clumsy character was a huge success and became another national treasure.

Atkinson made his big-screen debut in 1983's unofficial James Bond picture Never Say Never Again. Despite this film receiving mixed reports, he has continued to juggle TV and film roles. In 1997 Bean came to the big screen, and Scooby Doo topped the US box office in 2002. This was followed by spoof Bond feature Johnny English in 2003.

As a long-time collaborator with writer Richard Curtis, he has regularly contributed to Comic Relief. He even played the 9th Doctor, in the 1999 Doctor Who spoof The Curse Of Fatal Death.

More about Rowan Atkinson in the Guide »»
  1997 Bean (Film)
  1989 Blackadder Goes Forth (TV)
  1989 Mr Bean (TV)
  1987 Blackadder the Third (TV)
  1986 Blackadder II (TV)
  1983 The Blackadder (TV)
  1979 Not the Nine O'Clock News (TV)

Aherne, Caroline
Atkinson, Rowan
Bailey, Bill
Barker, Ronnie
Bhaskar, Sanjeev
Brydon, Rob
Carr, Jimmy
Coogan, Steve
Corbett, Ronnie
Crook, Mackenzie
Davies, Alan
Davis, Julia
Deayton, Angus
Eclair, Jenny
Elton, Ben
Enfield, Harry
Evans, Lee
Freeman, Martin
French, Dawn
Gervais, Ricky
Henry, Lenny
Higson, Charlie
Hill, Harry
Hudd, Roy
Izzard, Eddie
Jason, David
Kay, Peter
The League of Gentlemen
Little, Ralf
Lucas, Matt
Lumley, Joanna
Marshall, Kris
Merton, Paul
Moran, Dylan
Morris, Chris
Mortimer, Bob
Murray, Al
O'Hanlon, Ardal
Pegg, Simon
Phillips, Sally
Popper, Robert
Reeves, Vic
Saunders, Jennifer
Serafinowicz, Peter
Skinner, Frank
Stevenson, Jessica
Syal, Meera
Tate, Catherine
Vegas, Johnny
Walliams, David
Whitehouse, Paul
Whitfield, June

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy