Writersroom 10: The winners

Wednesday 16 March 2011, 14:54

Fiona BBC writersroom Fiona BBC writersroom

We launched the Writersroom 10 scheme in December last year as a new partnership programme for writers and theatres - marking the importance of theatre as the first home for many brilliant writers in the UK, and investing in writers and new theatre writing at an early stage.

We are very pleased to announce that the 10 winning writers and their partner theatres are:

West Yorkshire Playhouse - Dawn King
Salisbury Playhouse - Kate Mitchell
Live Theatre - Paul Charlton
Bristol Old Vic - Penny Gunter
Library Theatre - Rebecca Prestwich
Lyric Theatre, Belfast - Seamus Collins
Tamasha - Amman Brar
Old Vic - Kenneth Emson
Bush Theatre - Rachel De-Lahay
Broadway, Barking - Jon O'Neill

The 10 writers will be part of a year-long development scheme and they will each receive a seed-commission of £1000, while the theatres and BBC writersroom will run a partnership programme of events.

Judges Lee Hall and Rebecca Lenkiewicz said:

"We were very impressed by the imagination, range and quality of the work submitted. It was difficult to hone down the most outstanding from such a wealth of diverse plays. The final ten leapt out through their strength originality and boldness. The dialogue was particularly impressive and the ideas for their new commissions were striking and ambitious".

The winning writers will be updating us on their progress throughout the scheme on the writersroom blog.


Jump to comments pagination

This entry is now closed for comments

Share this page

More Posts


Monday 14 March 2011, 11:49

32 Brinkburn Street

Tuesday 29 March 2011, 11:06

About this Blog

Behind-the-scenes insights from writers and producers on BBC TV and radio programmes.  

Get top tips on script writing and follow the journeys of writers who have come through BBC writersroom schemes and opportunities.


Blog Updates

Stay updated with the latest posts from the blog.

Subscribe using:

What are feeds?