We launched the Writersroom 10 scheme in December last year as a new partnership programme for writers and theatres - marking the importance of theatre as the first home for many brilliant writers in the UK, and investing in writers and new theatre writing at an early stage.

We are very pleased to announce that the 10 winning writers and their partner theatres are:

West Yorkshire Playhouse - Dawn King
Salisbury Playhouse - Kate Mitchell
Live Theatre - Paul Charlton
Bristol Old Vic - Penny Gunter
Library Theatre - Rebecca Prestwich
Lyric Theatre, Belfast - Seamus Collins
Tamasha - Amman Brar
Old Vic - Kenneth Emson
Bush Theatre - Rachel De-Lahay
Broadway, Barking - Jon O'Neill

The 10 writers will be part of a year-long development scheme and they will each receive a seed-commission of £1000, while the theatres and BBC writersroom will run a partnership programme of events.

Judges Lee Hall and Rebecca Lenkiewicz said:

"We were very impressed by the imagination, range and quality of the work submitted. It was difficult to hone down the most outstanding from such a wealth of diverse plays. The final ten leapt out through their strength originality and boldness. The dialogue was particularly impressive and the ideas for their new commissions were striking and ambitious".

The winning writers will be updating us on their progress throughout the scheme on the writersroom blog.


This entry is now closed for comments.

  • Comment number 1. Posted by joylud

    on 1 Apr 2011 06:32

    Congratulations to the Writer's room 10 winners!
    I'm not sure if this is obvious, but when you have ongoing competitions, like this one and 'laughing stock' etc. are the entries read by the same readers who normally deal with unsolicited scripts? I just wondered if it affected the normal timeframe of things?

    • This entry is now closed for comments. Number of positive ratings for comment 1: 0
    • This entry is now closed for comments. Number of negative ratings for comment 1: 0

More Posts