« Previous | Main | Next »

Crowning ceremony 2011

Post categories:

Dan Williams Dan Williams | 16:30 UK time, Monday, 1 August 2011

The Crown is offered for a poem of up to 200 lines not in strict metre. The subject set this year was 'Veins'.

The National Eisteddfod for Wales 2011 Crown

The National Eisteddfod for Wales 2011 Crown

16:35 - The trumpet is sounded to call the Gorsedd procession into the Pavilion lead by the herald bard.

They are followed by the Gorsedd members in their white, blue and green robes. Each colour denotes a particular rank. The procession is made up of poets, writers, musicians, artists and people that have made a distinct contribution to the Welsh nation, language and culture.

Robin o Fôn the sword keeper, better know as Robin McBride, the former Wales rugby international, walks into the Pavilion with the sword of peace.

The Archdruid Jim Parc Nest (T. James Jones) follows. He is a former winner of the Crown, both in 1986 and 1988 respectively, as well as the Chair in 2007.

16:37 - Before the ceremony starts the Archdruid invites guests from the Celtic nations to join him on the stage for the ceremony. The guests come from Scotland, Cornwall, Ireland, Patagonia, Brittany and the Isle of Man.

16:45 - The trumpeters sound the state trumpet four times for all four corners of the Pavilion to stand, followed by the offering of the Gorsedd prayer.

The Archdruid gives his best to Selwyn Iolen who is absent because of illness.

Wrexham Eisteddfodau in the past are know for the double - T H Parry Williams won both the Chair and Crown in 1912, when the Eisteddfod was held in Wrexham, and in 1977 when the Eisteddfod was held here, Donald Evans won both the Crown and Chair.

16:53 - The Archdruid invites the adjudicators to the stage, where the adjudication is delivered by Gwyn Thomas on behalf of his fellow adjudicators, Alan Llwyd and Nesta Wyn Jones. He announces that the winner is the poet with the pseudonym 'O'r Tir Du'

17:00 - The Archdruid thanks the adjudicators and when the state trumpet sounds asks that 'O'r Tir Du' and only 'O'r Tir Du' stands. The lights dim in the Pavilion and a spotlight searches the audience for the winner.

A man stands in the audience.


A man stands in the crowd.

A man stands in the crowd.


The mistress of the robes dresses the winner in his robes and escorts him to the stage.

17:06 - The Archdruid announces the winner as Geraint Lloyd Owen from Bontnewydd, Caernarfon.


Geraint Lloyd Owen of Bontnewydd, Caernarfon.

Geraint Lloyd Owen of Bontnewydd, Caernarfon.


17:08 - The sword of Peace is raised above his head before the Archdruid asks the audience three times 'Is there peace?' before asking the newly appointed bard to sit in the peace of the Eisteddfod.


The sword of Peace is raised above Geraint's head.

The sword of Peace is raised above Geraint's head.


The Crown bearers' carry the Crown over to the Archdruid where he places the Wrexham and District National Eisteddfod 2011 Crown on Geraint's head.

17:11 - Crowning song sung by Edryd Williams followed by poems read out by last year's crown winner, Glenys Roberts, and last year's prose medal winner Jerry Hunter.

17:16 - Girls from local schools perform the flower dance as part of the ceremony before Geraint is presented with the horn of plenty by the masters of the court, and a floral tribute of wild Welsh flowers presented by the maids of the court.


Geraint Lloyd Owen - Crown winner 2011

Geraint Lloyd Owen - Crown winner 2011


17:21 - The Archdruid brings the procession to a close with the Welsh National Anthem.


To watch the ceremony highlights as well as all the results from the rest of the days competing, go to our Eisteddfod site.


  • No comments to display yet.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.