« Previous | Main | Next »

American poet Elyse Fenton wins 2010 Dylan Thomas Prize

Post categories:

Laura Chamberlain Laura Chamberlain | 10:14 UK time, Thursday, 2 December 2010

Elyse Fenton has scooped the 2010 Dylan Thomas Prize for Clamor, her collection of 21st century war poetry.

Elyse Fenton

Elyse Fenton

Clamor was written in part while Fenton's husband was deployed as a medic in Baghdad, and is the first book of poetry ever to have won the title.

She is the third winner of the award following Nam Le with The Boat in 2008 and Rachel Trezise with Fresh Apples in 2006.

Fenton, who lives in Philadelphia, and the five other shortlisted writers have been in Wales during the past week, taking part in the prize’s newly extended education programme, DylanED.

The writers visited a collection of schools and higher education institutions, delivering workshops to students and pupils across south Wales.

Another winner on the night was 22-year-old Stefan Mohamed from Powys, who picked up the prize’s inaugural £5,000 Sony Reader Award category for unpublished writers with his novel Bitter Sixteen.

Read more on the story on BBC Wales News, and visit The Dylan Thomas Prize website for further information.


  • No comments to display yet.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.