« Previous | Main | Next »

The Crowning Ceremony as it happened

Post categories:

Dan Williams Dan Williams | 16:56 UK time, Monday, 2 August 2010

This blog is being updated with the most recent news added to the bottom of the page. To watch the ceremony live on our Eisteddfod site click here.

16:35 - The trumpet is sounded to call the Gorsedd procession into the Pavilion lead by the herald bard.

They are followed by the Gorsedd members in their white, blue and green robes. Each colour denotes a particular rank. The procession is made up of poets, writers, musicians, artists and people that have made a distinct contribution to the Welsh nation, language and culture.

Robin o Fôn the sword keeper, better know as Robin McBride, the former Wales rugby international, walks into the Pavilion with the sword of peace.

The newly appointed Jim Parc Nest (T. James Jones) has taken over the Archdruid duties from the late Dic yr Hendre. T. James Jones won the Crown twice, in 1986 and 1988, as well as the Chair in 2007.

16:39 - Before the ceremony starts the Archdruid invites guests from the Celtic nations to join him on the stage for the ceremony. The guests come from Scotland, Cornwall, Ireland, Patagonia, Brittany and the Isle of Man.

The representative for Scotland reads a passage on behalf of all the representatives.

16:45 - The trumpeters sound the state trumpet four times for all four corners of the Pavilion to stand, followed by the offering of the Gorsedd prayer.

16:49 -The Archdruid gives his best wishes to Selwyn Iolen, the deputy Archdruid, who cannot attend due to illness.

16:50 -There is an added poignancy to this year's ceremony as one of the adjudicators, Iwan Llwyd, died in May of this year. The Archdruid reads out a poem in remembrance to Iwan Llwyd, and asks the audience to stand in his honour. He was crowned himself in the Rhymney Eisteddfod of 1990.

16:53 - The Archdruid invites the adjudicators to the stage, where the adjudication is read by former winner Mererid Hopwood. She announces that the winner is the poet with the pseudonym 'Barcud Fyth'

17:03 - The Archdruid thanks the adjudicators and when the state trumpet sounds asks that 'Barcud Fyth' and only 'Barcud Fyth' stands. The lights dim in the Pavilion and a spotlight searches the audience for the winner.

A lady stands in the audience.

The mistress of the robes dresses the winner in her robes and escorts her to the stage.

17:06 - The Archdruid announces the winner as Glenys Mair Glyn Roberts from Llantrisant.

17:09 - The sword of Peace is raised above her head before the Archdruid asks the audience three times 'Is there peace?' before asking the newly appointed bard to sit in the peace of the Eisteddfod.

The Crown bearers' carry the Crown over to the Archdruid where he places the Blaenau Gwent and Heads of the Valleys National Eisteddfod 2010 on Glenys's head.

17:11 - The crowning song is sung by Gavin Rhydfelin followed by poems read out by last year's crown winner, Ceri Wyn, and last year's prose medal winner Sian Melangell.

17:17 - Girls from local schools perform the flower dance as part of the ceremony before Glenys is presented with the horn of plenty by the masters of the court, and a floral tribute of wild Welsh flowers presented by the maids of the court.

The Archdruid brings the procession to a close with the Welsh National Anthem.

17:30 - The procession leaves the stage and the Pavilion.


  • No comments to display yet.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.