Tagged with: Books

192 posts about Books on this blog

  1. Excorcism, atheism and ebooks

    Friday 27 December 2013, 09:00

    Phil Rickman Phil Rickman

    It’s now 40 years since The Exorcist hit the big screen and was promptly banned by local authorities all over the UK because of its graphic scenes of demonic possession.

    Read more about Excorcism, atheism and ebooks

  2. Is it just Christmas, or is literature living in the past?

    Friday 20 December 2013, 11:53

    Phil Rickman Phil Rickman

    You look in a bookshop window and there they all are, the characters who live forever on the sales charts. Currently, you’ll find it’s James Bond and Bertie Wooster.

    Even the ones who are officially dead can’t be counted on to stay that way.

    Read more about Is it just Christmas, or is literature living in the past?

  3. Cops and criminals

    Friday 13 December 2013, 12:35

    Phil Rickman Phil Rickman

    Real-life cops might generally be more efficient these days but, for writers of crime fiction, where the rule book tends to get discarded, policing is just not as much fun.

    Read more about Cops and criminals

  4. Hay-on-Wye: fighting back

    Friday 6 December 2013, 14:19

    Phil Rickman Phil Rickman

    It was Peter Florence, director of the Hay Festival, who said, 'Why did it take you so long?' He meant writing a novel set in Hay-on-Wye.

    Read more about Hay-on-Wye: fighting back

  5. Perfect for fans of Dan Brown

    Friday 29 November 2013, 16:08

    Phil Rickman Phil Rickman

    It's 10 years since The Da Vinci Code was first published, which coincides with the publication of The Camelot Code and the return of Phil the Shelf to BBC Radio Wales.

    Read more about Perfect for fans of Dan Brown

  6. Mabinogion series concludes with new tales from Trezza Azzopardi and Tishani Doshi

    Monday 11 November 2013, 12:42

    Polly March Polly March

    The ancient myths of the Mabinogion are firmly rooted in the Welsh national identity, offering a mystical glimpse of the medieval Celtic myth cycle and how life in this land may once have been for our ancestors.

    Read more about Mabinogion series concludes with new tales from Trezza Azzopardi and Tishani Doshi

  7. Aspiring authors: write what you know

    Monday 19 August 2013, 13:13

    Phil Rickman Phil Rickman

    Would-be novelists are always told: write what you know. What this actually means is that you have to look like you really know what you're writing about. Which can lead to interesting situations.

    Read more about Aspiring authors: write what you know

  8. Theatre company to bring Dylan Thomas' Swansea to life with guided tour

    Tuesday 13 August 2013, 09:54

    Polly March Polly March

    Next year marks the centenary of Dylan Thomas' birth, and there is a raft of exciting events scheduled throughout the year to commemorate Swansea's most famous son.

    Read more about Theatre company to bring Dylan Thomas' Swansea to life with guided tour

  9. Funny business

    Monday 12 August 2013, 09:00

    Phil Rickman Phil Rickman

    We decided to devote a full programme in the series to funny fiction.

    Read more about Funny business

  10. The psychological corridors of crime fiction

    Monday 5 August 2013, 13:54

    Phil Rickman Phil Rickman

    OK, I haven't yet read JK Rowling's pseudonymous crime novel... but in one way it looks very much like good news. The title, anyway, The Cuckoo's Calling.

    Read more about The psychological corridors of crime fiction

  11. Phil the Shelf: exploring 'faith-lit'

    Monday 29 July 2013, 11:03

    Phil Rickman Phil Rickman

    Let's face it: if it wasn't for God, being an atheist would be no fun at all.

    Read more about Phil the Shelf: exploring 'faith-lit'

  12. Llewelyn Prichard, bizarre genius

    Thursday 25 July 2013, 16:57

    Phil Carradice Phil Carradice

    Wales has produced many interesting and unusual individuals over the years but none was more bizarre and arguably more mysterious than the writer Thomas Jeffery Llewelyn Prichard.

    Read more about Llewelyn Prichard, bizarre genius

  13. Do you want to be a published novelist?

    Monday 22 July 2013, 12:11

    Phil Rickman Phil Rickman

    Wanna be a published novelist? You know... properly published, by a real publisher? That situation where the book is printed on actual paper and the only handover of money is from the publisher to you?

    Read more about Do you want to be a published novelist?

  14. The Secret World is a seductive place

    Tuesday 16 July 2013, 14:40

    Phil Rickman Phil Rickman

    Crime writers who turn detective always do well on TV - particularly in the US. But in real life, of course... Well, actually, in real life it happens, too.

    Read more about The Secret World is a seductive place

  15. Gwyn Thomas 1913-1981 - novelist, playwright, broadcaster and raconteur

    Friday 5 July 2013, 12:23

    Jeffrey Robinson Jeffrey Robinson

    This year marks the centenary of the birth of Gwyn Thomas, one of Wales' greatest writers in the medium of English.

    Read more about Gwyn Thomas 1913-1981 - novelist, playwright, broadcaster and raconteur

  16. To boldly bowdlerize – Thomas Bowdler and the Swansea connection

    Thursday 13 June 2013, 15:57

    Phil Carradice Phil Carradice

    The idea for a watered down version of Shakespeare had been in Bowdler's mind for years, ever since his own father had first read him the plays during his childhood.

    Read more about To boldly bowdlerize – Thomas Bowdler and the Swansea connection

  17. Follow the story: Under Milk Wood takes to Twitter

    Thursday 9 May 2013, 13:48

    Laura Chamberlain Laura Chamberlain

    A new production of Dylan Thomas' Under Milk Wood will reach a very different audience this week as characters including Dai Bread, Cherry Owen and Captain Cat take to Twitter for a performance.

    Read more about Follow the story: Under Milk Wood takes to Twitter

  18. Richard Hughes - Laugharne's other son

    Sunday 28 April 2013, 09:00

    Phil Carradice Phil Carradice

    Say "Laugharne" and most people immediately think of Dylan Thomas and his home at the Boat House. But Thomas was not the only writer to live in the west Wales village.

    Read more about Richard Hughes - Laugharne's other son

  19. Academics, poets and musicians unite in evening to mark RS Thomas' centenary

    Wednesday 17 April 2013, 16:54

    Polly March Polly March

    This year marks a century since the birth of the celebrated Welsh poet and priest RS Thomas. Famed for his uncompromising and often stark representations of religion and the Welsh landscape, Thomas was also passionate about the Welsh nationalist cause and a fan of the visual arts.

    Read more about Academics, poets and musicians unite in evening to mark RS Thomas' centenary

  20. The Laugharne Weekend 2013

    Thursday 4 April 2013, 11:45

    Polly March Polly March

    Celebrated pop artist Sir Peter Blake, columnist and author Caitlin Moran and songstress Beth Orton are just some of the guests who will be heading to Laugharne this weekend for its seventh festival of literature and music.

    Read more about The Laugharne Weekend 2013

About this Blog

Behind the scenes on our biggest shows, the stories you won't see on TV & highlights from Welsh history, arts and music.

Follow us on Twitter & Facebook for the latest posts.

Blog Updates

Stay updated with the latest posts from the blog.

Subscribe using:

What are feeds?

BBC Wales tweets