Manics announce National Treasures details, single release and gig

Tuesday 30 August 2011, 10:58

James McLaren James McLaren

Tagged with:

Manic Street Preachers have announced details of their forthcoming complete singles collection, National Treasures, plus a gig and a new single to coincide with the release.

Manic Street Preachers

Manic Street Preachers

The brand new track is a cover version of The The's 1983 single This Is The Day. It will be released on 7 November, a week after the album.

It is the first time the Manics have issued a cover version as a single since 1992's Suicide Is Painless.

National Treasures will be available as a double CD, a double CD and DVD set and a box set with 38 vinyl-finish CD singles, a poster, a DVD, 7" vinyl copies of New Art Riot, Suicide Alley and Jackie Collins Existential Question Time, plus special lipstick and vanity mirror. A limited number will also include a 7" vinyl copy of Motown Junk.

Tracklisting of National Treasures:

  • Motown Junk
  • Stay Beautiful
  • Love's Sweet Exile
  • You Love Us
  • Slash 'N' Burn
  • Motorcycle Emptiness
  • Suicide Is Painless
  • Little Baby Nothing
  • From Despair To Where
  • La Tristesse Durera (Scream To A Sigh)
  • Roses In The Hospital
  • Life Becoming A Landslide
  • Faster
  • Revol
  • She Is Suffering
  • A Design For Life
  • Everything Must Go
  • Kevin Carter
  • Australia
  • If You Tolerate This Your Children Will Be Next
  • The Everlasting
  • You Stole The Sun From My Heart
  • Tsunami
  • The Masses Against The Classes
  • So Why So Sad
  • Found That Soul
  • Ocean Spray
  • Let Robeson Sing
  • There By The Grace Of God
  • The Love Of Richard Nixon
  • Empty Souls
  • Your Love Alone Is Not Enough
  • Autumnsong
  • Indian Summer
  • (It's Not War) Just The End Of Love
  • Some Kind Of Nothingness
  • Postcards From A Young Man
  • This Is The Day

In support of the release, Manic Street Preachers will play the full track-listing live at London's O2 on Saturday 17 December. According to the band, it will involve: "Glitter, glamour, special guests and a ticker-tape celebration. A never to be repeated one-off visual experience encompassing 21 years of MSP with 38 songs - from 1990's Motown Junk to (but not in order!) 2011's This Is The Day. There will be an interval in order to top up on refreshments and like all the best parties, you'll talk about it for years to come and your friends will wish they'd been there."

Feel free to comment! If you want to have your say, on this or any other BBC blog, you will need to sign in to your BBC iD account. If you don't have a BBC iD account, you can register here - it'll allow you to contribute to a range of BBC sites and services using a single login.

Need some assistance? Read about BBC iD, or get some help with registering.

Tagged with:


Jump to comments pagination

This entry is now closed for comments

Share this page

More Posts

On publishing and publicity

Tuesday 30 August 2011, 09:32

Reading and Leeds highlights

Tuesday 30 August 2011, 10:44

About this Blog

Behind the scenes on our biggest shows, the stories you won't see on TV & highlights from Welsh history, arts and music.

Follow us on Twitter & Facebook for the latest posts.

Blog Updates

Stay updated with the latest posts from the blog.

Subscribe using:

What are feeds?

BBC Wales tweets