Round up: winners at the 2012 National Eisteddfod

The National Eisteddfod continues on the old airfield at Llandow, near Cowbridge, until Saturday, with the prestigious Chair being awarded this afternoon in the Vale of Glamorgan.

Here’s a round-up of some of the winners so far:

Wiliam Bedwyr Rees from Llangefni, Anglesey, has won the Drama medal in his first time competing at a National Eisteddfod.

Bedwyr Rees, winner of the Drama medal

Rees' drama piece was influenced by the death of one of his friends two years ago. The story, of three friends growing up during the 1980s and 90s, references many important historical events of the period with music also being a key element, used to show the passing of time.

The sea is a constant presence in the play, which focuses on the end of friendship and belief, language and at the end, people.

It was announced on Wednesday that there will be no prose medal winner at this year’s National Eisteddfod, as it has been withheld by the adjudicators.

For this year’s medal entrants had been tasked with producing a volume of creative prose, of no more than 40,000 words, on the theme of migration.

Although eight volumes were received, the judging panel decided not to award the prize to any of the entrants.

Speaking on behalf of her co-adjudicators, Aled Islwyn and Fflur Dafydd, Gwerfyl Pierce Jones said, "After much deliberating and consideration, we came to the unfortunate conclusion that we had no choice but to withhold the Medal this year. By doing this in 2012, we hope to see a revival in this competition next year."

Daniel Owen Memorial Prize
Robat Gruffudd has won the Daniel Owen Memorial Prize for his unpublished novel Afallon.

Robat Gruffudd, winner of the 2012 Daniel Owen Memorial Prize

The Daniel Owen Memorial Prize is awarded for an unpublished novel of not less than 50,000 words with a strong story line. This year’s competition attracted six entries.

Gruffudd, from Talybont in Ceredigion, has previously won the award and has four published novels and one volume of poetry. He also collected a monetary prize of £5,000.

Much earlier in the week poet Gwyneth Lewis was awarded the Crown.

Lewis, under her bardic name of Y Frân, scooped the prestigious crown with her sequence of poems on the subject Ynys (Island). She beat off competition from 31 other entries to win the accolade.

Gwyneth Lewis, winner of the 2012 National Eisteddfod Crown

This year’s crown was designed by Penarth-based jeweller Anne Morgan, who was inspired by the landscape of the Vale of Glamorgan and has included elements such as the rocks and cliffs of the area in the simple but bold design.

You can watch a video of Anne making the crown on YouTube.

Lewis was the inaugural National Poet of Wales in 2005-06, and was also responsible for composing the words on the front of the Wales Millennium Centre in Cardiff Bay. She became an Honorary Member of the Gorsedd in 2006.

Lewis’ translation of Shakespeare’s Tempest, Y Storm, will be performed by Theatr Genedlaethol Cymru at this year’s Eisteddfod as part of the World Shakespeare Festival and the London 2012 Festival.

For the latest news from the Maes, visit


More Posts