Wales Book of the Year 2011 long lists unveiled

Tagged with:

Literature Wales has announced the long lists for the 2011 Wales Book of the Year awards.

The English language list consists of three collections of poetry, two books by début novelists, a science fiction nod and non-fiction entries that include an exploration into the culture of Welsh Nonconformity and a journey through the Inca heartland of south America.

Peter Finch, Literature Wales' chief executive, said: "Wales Book of the Year often causes a stir. Its eclectic, exciting and energising selection shows off some of the best writing talent Wales has. This year's choice is no exception."

The English language long list:

  • Gladys Mary Coles, Clay (Flambard Press)
  • Stevie Davies, Into Suez (Parthian)
  • John Harrison, Cloud Road: A Journey Through the Inca Heartland (Parthian)
  • Tyler Keevil, Fireball (Parthian)
  • Patrick McGuinness, Jilted City (Carcanet)
  • Pascale Petit, What the Water Gave Me: Poems After Frida Kahlo (Seren)
  • Alastair Reynolds, Terminal World (Orion Books)
  • Dai Smith, In the Frame: Memory in Society Wales 1910 to 2010 (Parthian)
  • M Wynn Thomas, In the Shadow of the Pulpit: Literature and Nonconformist Wales (University of Wales Press)
  • Alan Wall, Doctor Placebo (Shearsman Books)

The Welsh language long list:

  • Tony Bianchi, Cyffesion Geordie Oddi Cartref (Gwasg Gomer)
  • Elin Haf, Ar Fôr Tymhestlog (Gwasg Carreg Gwalch)
  • Hywel Gwynfryn, Hugh Griffith (Gwasg Gomer)
  • Jerry Hunter, Gwenddydd (Gwasg Gwynedd)
  • William Owen, Cân yr Alarch (Y Lolfa)
  • Angharad Price, Caersaint (Y Lolfa)
  • Dewi Prysor, Lladd Duw (Y Lolfa)
  • Gwyn Thomas, Murmuron Tragwyddoldeb a Chwningod Tjioclet (Cyhoeddiadau Barddas)
  • Ned Thomas, Bydoedd: Cofiant Cyfnod (Y Lolfa)
  • Gareth F. Williams, Creigiau Aberdaron (Gwasg Gwynedd)

The short list of three English language and three Welsh language titles will be revealed on Thursday 19 May, while the winners of the 2011 Wales Book of the Year will be announced at a ceremony on Thursday 7 July.

Tagged with:


More Posts