Eisteddfod prose competition dates fast approaching

Tagged with:

If you were thinking of competing for the Daniel Owen Memorial Prize or the Prose Medal at next year's National Eisteddfod in Wrexham, you have until 1 December to enter.

The Daniel Owen Memorial Prize is awarded for an unpublished novel of no fewer than 50,000 words, while the Prose Medal is given for a piece of creative prose titled Rebellion.

Jerry Hunter

This year's Prose Medal winner at Ebbw Vale was Jerry Hunter from Penygroes in Gwynedd. Not only was he the first American to win a major prize at the festival, but he was also the first foreigner to scoop a major prize. Watch his ceremony at our Eisteddfod site.

The 2010 Daniel Owen Memorial Prize went to Grace Jones of Felinheli, Gwynedd. She was a Prose Medal winner in 1988 as well as being triumphant in the National Eisteddfod's short story competition three times. See her prize giving ceremony.

Competition listings for the 2011 National Eisteddfod in Wrexham can be purchased from the official Eisteddfod website.

If you missed any of the action from this year's Eisteddfod from Ebbw Vale you can watch ceremony highlights, results, guides and pictures from throughout the whole week on our Eisteddfod website.

Tagged with:


This entry is now closed for comments.

More Posts