BBC BLOGS - Sport Editors
« Previous | Main | Next »

Sports Personality Team of the Year

Post categories:

Carl Doran | 18:22 UK time, Tuesday, 21 November 2006

For the first time in the history of BBC Sports Personality of the Year, the Team of the Year Award will be decided by the listeners of BBC Radio Five Live.

It seems a perfect marriage to have the audience of a station which boasts so much sports coverage decide who wins the prestigious prize.

Five Live is inviting nominations - you can have your say by texting 85058 and by emailing

Then on Monday 27 November between 1930 and 2100 GMT on Five Live Sport, a panel of experts will try to narrow them down to a final three.

Former Olympic runner Katherine Merry, champion jump jockey Tony McCoy, boxing promoter Frank Warren and rugby star Matt Dawson will run through your nominations.

There will then be a big vote on the weekend beginning Friday 1 December, and ending Monday 4 December, when YOU will decide who wins the award this year.

For more details, tune into Five Live Sport on Monday 27 November, 1930 to 2100.

The award will be presented during BBC One's Sports Personality show, which is being held at the NEC in Birmingham, on Sunday 10 December.

Flashback to 2005 Team of the Year

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.