« Previous | Main | Next »

Meet the wildcards

Frankie Ward | 12:22 UK time, Friday, 12 October 2012

Time is running out for you to make your mark on this year's wildcard vote.

Eight of our runners-up have been handpicked by judges Executive Producer Alison Vernon-Smith and Chortle's Steve Bennett to face a public vote. The two with the most votes will earn themselves a place in the semi-finals later this month.

Watch this video to hear 2011 winner - and successful wildcard - Angela Barnes talk about why the vote will be so important to our current line-up. It is, after all, another crack at the prize!

And how do you vote, exactly? Well, first we reccommend that you watch each of our wildcards performing by following this link. It'll take you to a page where you can find all of the videos for each of the stand-ups. The vote itself takes place on our homepage. You'll need a BBC ID to be able to vote, but don't let that put you off; once you have a login you can leave comments on pages across the BBC, take part in future polls and votes, and curate a space where you can keep all your favourite clips and programmes - this is especially useful if you've just downloaded the shiny new BBC iPlayer Radio app.

So what are you waiting for? Go vote and potentially change the life of a budding stand-up and then send us a tweet @BBCNewComAward to let us know you've got involved.


Be the first to comment


Sign in

BBC navigation

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.