iPlayer Radio What's New?

MPFree: Deep Sea Diver – One By One

Thursday 7 August 2014, 10:40

Ashley Team Laverne Ashley Team Laverne Assistant Producer

Tagged with:

Today’s MPFree is from Jessica Dobson, Peter Mansen, Garrett Gue and friends, better known as Deep Sea Diver. Think St Vincent’s guitar riffs and smashing them head-on with Tune-Yard’s esotericism, thrown in a bit of cheeky fuzz pop and you’re pretty much there. Excellent stuff.  

Download Deep Sea Diver – One By One

Jessica gave up her life as a touring guitarist in 2007 – touring with the likes of Beck, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, and The Shins – to focus on her own solo project Deep Sea Diver. The self-released the "New Caves" EP in 2009. Soon after the band were on the road with Conor Oberst and the Mystic Valley Band. The band grew in 2010 to include drummer and husband Peter Mansen, and their debut album History Speaks saw the light of day in 2012. They’re now back with more new material with the ‘Always Waiting’ EP, from which One By One is taken. 

Tagged with:


Be the first to comment

Share this page

More Posts

MPFree: Paperhaus – Cairo

Wednesday 6 August 2014, 09:41

Desert Island Disco: Debauched, Bacchanalian House Warming

Friday 8 August 2014, 06:59

About this Blog

Download the latest MPFree tracks from Lauren's 6 Music show.

Blog Updates

Stay updated with the latest posts from the blog.

Subscribe using:

What are feeds?

Archive posts

We've moved to a shiny new blog, but you can still view Lauren Laverne's older blog posts.