Petr Cech

A Czech Republic midfielder misjudges a pass back to his centre-half. An opposition forward, spotting his chance, races in to challenge. The quick-thinking centre-half, feints to play the ball, but without touching it, he allows it to pass through his legs to his goalkeeper, who had sensed the danger and had run to the edge of the penalty box and then picks up the ball. Because the centre-half never touched the ball, the forward immediately claims it is a backpass to the goalkeeper. He screams for a free-kick to be awarded.

Is he right? What would you do in this situation?

Thank you to japhakayk for this suggestion.

We will provide the answer from You Are The Ref's Keith Hackett on Thursday.


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites