BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page has been archived and is no longer updated. Find out more about page archiving.

24 September 2014
BerkshireBerkshire

BBC Homepage
England
»BBC Local
Berkshire
Things to do
People & Places
Nature
History
Religion & Ethics
Arts and Culture
BBC Introducing
TV & Radio

Sites near Berkshire

Hampshire
London
Oxford
Wiltshire

Related BBC Sites

England
 

Contact Us

Berkshire Stringers

Stringers biographies

Page three
You can find out about some of our Berkshire Stringers here:

Pauline Jorgenson

Pauline Jorgensen
Pauline Jorgensen

I've lived in Lower Earley for more than 20 years, in fact since before many of the new houses were built. Having moved down from university in Scotland, to start a career in IT, my husband Norman and I liked the area so much that we've have lived in three different houses in Lower Earley, all within about half a mile of each other! 

Apart from my job, I have varied interests which are shared with Norman and their son David, including boating, photography, aviation and military history. In my spare time I'm a local town councillor and I'm currently chairperson of the planning committee.

Melvyn Leaman

Melvyn Leaman
Melvyn Leaman

I'm Melvyn Leaman but I'm also known as Hippo. I was born in Devon and am 56- years-old.

I'm a fully qualified chef and I worked as a manager in the NHS for 21 years. I'm now a taxi driver in Basingstoke and I formed the Basingstoke Hackney Carriage Federation in 2001. I got married, divorced and then remarried and have no children of my own.

In my spare time I like coarse and deep sea fishing, travel, reading and quizzes. I even write and present my own quiz night.

Hannah Lucas

Hannah Lucas
Hannah Lucas

I'm 31-years-old and have been married for nine years to my husband, Stephen.  We have three children, 15-year-old Jamie, ten-year-old Josh and eight-year-old George.

My life experiences have given me a real heart and passion for all people including those who are vulnerable and disadvantaged in Maidenhead.

I had my first child at the age of just 16 and had to leave education early.  At 18 I got involved in drugs and was dependent for 10 years. I have turned my life around and, through living these experiences and working my way through them, I have a clear understanding of all the issues that may arise and as a result I am able to help, advise and support, where appropriate, all the young parents and their children who come in to re:charge the charity where I work.

I am currently attending a Working With Parents course at university to make sure that the service we are providing is one of best practice.

Leszek Luszowicz

Leszek Luszowicz
Leszek Luszowicz

My name is Leszek Luszowicz, born in 1949 in Edgware, London of Polish parents.

I went to school in Stafford in the West Midlands and then to Salford University where I studied Russian and German.

For 30 years, from 1975 to 2005, I worked at BBC Monitoring in Reading as a Russian/Polish monitor. This involved translating selected news items from Russian and Polish media into English. Apart from a few stints abroad for Monitoring, I have lived in Caversham since coming to Reading in 1975.

My hobbies include cycling to the shops in Reading (and occasionally on longer trips in the UK and Germany) and travelling mainly to Germany and Austria and occasionally Poland. I also like to watch on the Internet the daily local TV news bulletin from Vorarlberg, Austria's westernmost state which borders on Liechtenstein.

Currently I do some freelance translating from German into English and help out a couple of hours a week in a class with Polish children at E P Collier primary school in Caversham. Occasionally I accompany the current Mayor of Reading, Councillor Bet Tickner, to various functions as her escort .

Below is a picture of me in a hotel room in Berlin in September 2006. As you can see I like to travel light - I had just one spare pair of socks and trousers for the five-day trip!

Ashgar Majeed

Ashgar Majeed
Ashgar Majeed

My name is Asghar Majeed and I'm 41-years-old. I was born in Keithley, West Yorkshire and have lived there most of my life. I am a widower with three children - all boys.

The elder two are both at University doing degrees and the youngest one, Inshallah, is doing his GCSEs next year.

I am doing a graduate from Huddersfield University. I work for Siemens Business Services as a Senior Business Intelligence Consultant.

Click here to go to the previous or next page:
Page 1 >
Page 2 >
Page 3 >
Page 4 >
Page 5 >
last updated: 14/02/07
SEE ALSO
home
HOME
email
EMAIL
print
PRINT
Go to the top of the page
TOP
SITE CONTENTS
SEE ALSO

BBC Radio Berkshire

Podcast

[an error occurred while processing this directive]




About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy