Pitmedden Garden was originally laid out in 1675 by Sir Alexander Seton, and in the 1950s the Trust set about recreating the garden from designs from the seventeenth century. Although the garden is probably most famous for its parterres, there is also a spectacular lupin border and extensive herbaceous borders, which provide an abundance of colour and texture throughout the season. Honeysuckle, jasmine and roses create a succession of fragrances, while fountains, topiary, sundials and a fascinating herb garden add to the sense of discovery around the walled garden. Pitmedden House is mainly closed to the public, but includes a small display of paintings in the tearoom which were part of the original contents of the house. The adjacent Museum of Farming Life boasts an extensive collection of domestic and agricultural artefacts of a bygone era.
Not all locations are open to the public. Please contact the gallery or collection for more information.