Lindisfarne Castle was given to the National Trust in 1944 by Sir Edward de Stein and his sister, Miss Gladys de Stein. It is romantically situated on a high rock, on Holy Island, only accessible by causeway. Its commanding location looks towards Scotland in the north, Bamburgh Castle to the south, and to the Farne Islands across the open sea.
Following the dissolution of the monasteries in the mid-sixteenth century, the original fort was built from the old Priory’s stones. It was used as a stronghold to defend the harbour and to give safe haven to navy vessels. The Castle continued to house soldiers until 1883, but in 1903 it was transformed by Sir Edwin Lutyens into a holiday house for Edward Hudson, a publishing magnate, and owner of 'Country Life' magazine. Gertrude Jekyll, a creative partner of Lutyens, designed the gardens between 1906 and 1912. Sir Edwin's spartan interiors do not lend themselves to the display of works of art, the working wind indicator map being the most fascinating painted object here.
This location is open to the public
Holy Island, Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland, England, TD15 2SH
If you are planning a visit to see a particular painting, check with the location first. Paintings can be moved at short notice