Radio Humberside takes Sony station of the year

Radio Humberside team with Sky News presenter Kay Burley Radio Humberside celebrates a winning night with Sky News presenter Kay Burley

Related Stories

Radio Humberside has won station of the year at the Sony Awards.

Editor Simon Pattern collected the award from Sky News presenter Kay Burley and said he was 'utterly gobsmacked' during his acceptance speech.

Radio Humberside beat BBC Tees and Jackfm Oxfordshire in the category for stations with a potential audience of 300,000 to 1m listeners.

Speaking to Ariel on Tuesday, Pattern says it was a 'real unifying win for the team'.

Simon Pattern Simon Pattern during the night which passed in a blur

'This is probably one of the few awards where every single member of staff has an equal share in the award, that's the most wonderful thing about it,' he adds.

The Radio Humberside editor, who has been with the station for 11 years, didn't prepare an acceptance speech because he thought it might jinx the team's chances.

He says the night passed 'in a blur' after receiving the gong. 'When they call out the station's name and you're on your way to collect the award, the world feels like it moves at a different speed around you.'

Pattern believes the Olympics - including following the torch's journey through the region - helped the station take one of the night's top accolades. 'I remember thinking, once we got to the end of the torch coverage, what a brilliant experience it had been for so many people on the team, me included.'

Snapshot: Radio Humberside

  • On air for over four decades
  • 34 core staff, but up to 50 or 60 people will have some input on the station on a weekly basis
  • Presenters Betty Smith, 90, and Beryl Renwick, 86, became the oldest winners of an academy award last year, winning in the entertainment category
  • The station is the market leader in the transmission area, beating all commercial radio stations and BBC networks

The station editor also credits the team for connecting with their listeners. 'The language that we are using on air, the stories that we cover, these are matching the expectations of the audience.'

BBC comes top

The BBC swept many of the categories on the night, with Radio 4 taking a total of six, and four each for Radio 1 and Radio 5 live.

The latter won UK station of the year and also took a gong for its coverage of London 2012. The judges said the coverage captured 'the essence and experience of a major international event'.

BBC World Service also had a good night. Witness, edited by Kirsty Reid, took the honours for best speech programme.

The series focuses on people who were witnesses to pivotal moments in history, with judges saying 'the stories were brilliantly told and produced, shedding new light on moments of global importance'.

Best news feature went to the Bombardment of Homs, which aired in February last year on the World Service.

Reporter Paul Wood spent four days in Homs to bring listeners harrowing accounts from the city. Produced by Rebecca Kesby for radio current affairs, the judges called it 'journalism at the highest level'.

BBC Sony winners in full

  • Best Feature or Documentary: Bruising Silence (BBC Radio 1)
  • Best Speech Programme: Witness (BBC World Service)
  • Best Music Feature or Documentary: The Story of Ed Sheeran (BBC Radio 1)
  • Best Entertainment Programme: The Danny Baker Show (BBC Radio 5 live)
  • Best News & Current Affairs Programme: BBC Radio 1 Newsbeat (BBC Radio 1)
  • Best Promotional/Advertising Campaign: The Gothic Imagination (BBC Radio 4)
  • Radio Journalism of the Year: John Humphrys (BBC Radio 4)
  • Best News Feature or Documentary: The Bombardment of Homs (BBC World Service)
  • Best Use of Multiplatform: Radio 1's Review Show (BBC Radio 1)
  • Best Coverage of a Live Event: London 2012 : The Olympic & Paralympic Games (BBC Radio 5 live)
  • Special Award: Steve Lamacq
  • Sony Golden Headphones Award: Dan Howell and Phil Lester. (BBC Radio 1)
  • Best Music Programme: The Dermot O'Leary Show (BBC Radio 2)
  • Best Comedy: Isy Suttie: Pearl and Dave (BBC Radio 4)
  • Best Drama: The Resistance of Mrs Brown (BBC Radio 4)
  • Music Radio Broadcaster of the Year: Cerys On 6 (BBC 6 Music)
  • Speech Radio Broadcaster of the Year: Eddie Mair (BBC Radio 4)
  • Breakfast Show of the Year (10 million plus): Today Programme (BBC Radio 4)

More on This Story

Related Stories


Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.