Letter dated 1771

Contributed by Diana R

This letter dated 20th July 1771 was written by my great-great-great-great grandfather John Allen to his father William Allen of Ware, Hertfordshire. The family were Quakers. William Allen probably joined the Society of Friends soon after he settled in London. He came to London as a young man from Thorpe Salvin, Yorkshire, where he was born in 1730. After he retired from business he lived at Ware.

John Allen was born in 1757, so he was 13 or 14 years old when he wrote this. It was annotated at the bottom in 1872 by my great-great grandmother Charlotte (Allen) Sturge of Bristol. She kept family records from which I gleaned this information.

The letter is written in beautiful copperplate handwriting and is couched in formal language; it's an expression of filial respect and affection.

For me, it is valuable for the light it sheds on speech of the time, relations between fathers and sons and the contrast with modern idioms - no 'Hi there, Dad' 'Regards, John'.

Comments are closed for this object

Most of the content on A History of the World is created by the contributors, who are the museums and members of the public. The views expressed are theirs and unless specifically stated are not those of the BBC or the British Museum. The BBC is not responsible for the content of any external sites referenced. In the event that you consider anything on this page to be in breach of the site’s House Rules please Flag This Object.

About this object

Click a button to explore other objects in the timeline

Location

Hempsted

Culture
Period

1771

Theme
Size
H:
20cm
W:
16cm
Colour
Material

View more objects from people in Gloucestershire.

BBC navigation

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.